After my last post, I was asked if I would support any of the currently proposed gun control measures. It’s a complicated question. Of course, everyone agrees that there must be some limits on what weapons the average person may buy. Few people would argue that tanks, rocket launchers, or jet fighters are protected by the Second Amendment (the Supreme Court skirted this problem by defining the Second Amendment as protecting the right to bear arms commonly available to law abiding citizens).

If we were starting from scratch, I could probably be convinced to support a ban on high-capacity magazines or to institute universal registration of firearms. Owning a gun is a right, but it also comes with responsibilities, and I understand that.

The problem I have with the current gun control movement is that it is not playing straight with the American people and it is not negotiating in good faith. Many in the gun control lobby do not seek safe, responsible firearm ownership. They want to ban guns altogether. Here’s Diane Feinstein on guns.

In case you don’t want to watch the video, here’s the money quote.

If I could have gotten 51 votes in the Senate of the United States for an outright ban, picking up every one of them . . . Mr. and Mrs. America, turn ’em all in, I would have done it. I could not do that. The votes weren’t here

Feinstein comes by this view honestly. She’s not trying to enslave us all, or strip us of our rights, or set up a one world state. She just hates guns. Many years ago, she was president of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors and a good friend of Mayor Harvey Milk. On November 27, 1978, she was to experience her own gun-related tragedy.

“I went down the hall. I opened the wrong door. I opened (Milk’s) door. I found Harvey on his stomach. I tried to get a pulse and put my finger through a bullet hole. He was clearly dead.

“I remember it, actually, as if it was yesterday. And it was one of the hardest moments, if not the hardest moment, of my life,” Feinstein said Tuesday. “It was a devastating moment. For San Francisco, it was a day of infamy.”

Do I blame Feinstein for her stance on gun control? No, I just don’t trust her on the issue either. The two sides simply do not understand one another, and I am not sure how we can move forward with responsible gun laws if we can’t trust one another to deal fairly and honestly.

