After spending around eight months on the campaign writing under other people’s names, I’ve published an article under my own in The Weekly Standard. The subject is President Obama’s recent tendency to refuse to enforce federal law, particularly when it comes to our immigration and drug laws. I won’t repeat the arguments here, but I’ve already started to receive feedback, and I’ll address those comments in future posts. Enjoy.

One can sympathize, as I do, with the hapless children who are victims of our broken immigration system, just as one can sympathize, as I also do, with advocates of decriminalizing marijuana. But the substance of these policy choices is beside the point. In fact, general public sympathy for the president’s positions on these two controversies obscures a shift in our constitutional order that is as profound as it is dangerous.

